Concert Info

  • YouTube
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • MySpace
  • Email
  • |
  • Follow Kronos

Date: February 20, 2009

Time: 9:00 PM

City: Stanford, California

Venue: Dinkelspiel Auditorium

Presenter: Stanford Lively Arts



Oasis: Music of Central Asia and the Middle East

Midhat Assem (arr. Osvaldo Golijov) / Ya Habibi Ta’ala (My Love, Come Quickly) +
Unknown (arr. Ljova & Kronos) / Oh Mother, the Handsome Man Tortures Me +
Hamza El Din (realized by Tohru Ueda) / Escalay (Water Wheel) *
Steve Reich / Selections from The Cave
   Machpelah Commentary 2
   Ephraim Isaac Chanting
   Interior Drone
Franghiz Ali-Zadeh / Oasis *
Ramallah Underground (arr. Jacob Garchik) / Tashweesh *
Traditional (arr. Judith Berkson and Jacob Garchik) / Ov Horachamim +
Aleksandra Vrebalov / Sketch from a Balkan Notebook *


Raz Mesinai / Crossfader * West Coast premiere
Traditional (arr. Jacob Garchik) / Smyrneiko Minore +
Homayun Sakhi (arr. Stephen Prutsman) / Rangin Kaman (The Rainbow) *
   with Homayun Sakhi, rubâb
   and special guests Salar Nader, tabla, and Abbos Kosimov, doyra

Updated:  2/12/2009

* Written for Kronos
+ Arranged for Kronos

Recent World Premiere

Philip Glass' String Quartet No. 6 premiered at the Chan Centre in Vancouver (Oct 19, 2013), followed by performances at the Smith Center for the Performing Arts in Las Vegas, NV (Oct 21), Clarice Smith Center in College Park, MD (Oct 24), and Stanford Live in Stanford, CA (Jan 15, 2014). Upcoming performances include Krannert Center in Urbana, IL (Mar 19), Théâtre de la Ville in Paris (May 5), the Barbican in London (May 13) and more.

Email Newsletter