Concert Info

  • YouTube
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • MySpace
  • Email
  • |
  • Follow Kronos

Date: May 11, 2010

Time: 8:00 PM

City: Rome, Italy

Venue: Sala Sinopoli

Presenter: Auditorium Parco della Musica


Kronos Quartet:
Franghiz Ali-Zadeh / Mugam Sayagi *
Franghiz Ali-Zadeh / Oasis *

Alim Qasimov Ensemble:

Alim Qasimov, vocal and daf
Fargana Qasimova, vocal and daf
Rafael Asgarov, balaban
Rauf Islamov, kamancha
Zaki Valiyev, tar
Javidan Nabiyev, naghara

Program to be announced

Kronos Quartet and Alim Qasimov Ensemble:
Jahangir Jahangirov / Köhlen Atim (My spirited horse) +
Unattributed / Peyman Ettik (I gave my word) +
Shafiga Okhundova / Mehriban Olaq (Let’s be kind) +
Said Rustamov / Getme, Getme (Don’t leave, don’t leave) +
/ Qashlarin Kamandir (Your eyebrows are bow-like) +

All works performed by the Kronos Quartet and Alim Qasimov Ensemble were arranged by Alim Qasimov, with string quartet parts arranged for Kronos by Jacob Garchik. These arrangements were commissioned for the Kronos Quartet and Alim Qasimov by the Aga Khan Music Initiative, a program of the Aga Khan Trust for Culture, and the Columbia Foundation.

Updated:  04/09/2010

* Written for Kronos
+ Arranged for Kronos

Recent World Premiere

Philip Glass' String Quartet No. 6 premiered at the Chan Centre in Vancouver (Oct 19, 2013), followed by performances at the Smith Center for the Performing Arts in Las Vegas, NV (Oct 21), Clarice Smith Center in College Park, MD (Oct 24), and Stanford Live in Stanford, CA (Jan 15, 2014). Upcoming performances include Krannert Center in Urbana, IL (Mar 19), Théâtre de la Ville in Paris (May 5), the Barbican in London (May 13) and more.

Email Newsletter