Concert Info

  • YouTube
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Email
  • |
  • Follow Kronos

Date: February 04, 2017

Time: 7:30 PM PST

City: Kronos Festival 2017: Day 3

Venue: SFJAZZ Center, San Francisco



KRONOS FESTIVAL 2017: Here and Now

Day 3 / “The Odyssey”
Kronos Quartet with Vân-Ánh Võ and The Living Earth Show

Joan Jeanrenaud / Knock ** World premiere

Orlando “Cholo” Valderrama (arr. Kevin Villalta) / Y soy llanero +

Tanya Tagaq (arr. Jacob Garchik) / Excerpt from Sivunittinni **

Sahba Aminikia / Pareeshān (Abstracted) *  World premiere

Sahba Aminikia / Sooge Sohrab
        Performed by The Living Earth Show
            Travis Andrews, electric guitar
            Andy Meyerson, percussion
        Narrated by Nils Frykdahl


Jonathan Berger / My Lai Lullaby *
        with Vân-Ánh Võ, đàn bầu and đàn tranh
            written in collaboration with David Harrington and Vân-Ánh Võ

Vân-Ánh Võ / Selections from The Odyssey – from Vietnam to America
    I. Leaving
        1. Flashback
        2. War
        3. Leaving
        4. Pirates
    II. Scorching Sun
        1. Scorching Sun
        2. Lullaby
        3. Thirst
    III. Nước – My Country
        1. Sea of Tears
        2. Nước – My Country
            with Vân-Ánh Võ, đàn bầu, vocals, đàn t’rưng, bronze drum, traditional drum

Reserved Seating / Robert N. Miner Auditorium
Tickets: $20 / $30 / $45 / $65 // Buy tickets >


Kronos Festival 2017 closes out with Bay Area resident and masterful performer of Vietnamese traditional instruments Vân-Ánh Võ joining Kronos onstage to remount excerpts from her evening-length piece The Odyssey. In new arrangements, the powerful work explores the journeys of the Vietnamese “Boat People,” refugees who went to heroic lengths to escape the aftermath of the Vietnam War. Kronos and Võ will also perform “My Lai Lullaby,” an instrumental prelude written by Stanford University professor Jonathan Berger to his monodrama about helicopter pilot Hugh Thompson, one of the heroic US soldiers who tried to stop the My Lai massacre.

The concert will continue to spotlight festival artist-in-residence Sahba Aminikia with the world premiere by Kronos of “Pareeshan,” a new work inspired by the prominent Persian violinist Parviz Yahaghi, as well as a special solo performance by The Living Earth Show of “Sooge Sohrab,” a unique musical setting for electric guitar and percussion of the popular Persian myth of Sohrab and Rostam. From Ferdowsi’s 10th-century epic poem Shahnameh, the tragic story details how Rostam’s ignorance leads him to kill Sohrab, his own son.

Launched in 2015, Kronos’ education initiative Fifty for the Future: The Kronos Learning Repertoire is commissioning a free, open-access library of string quartets for the express purpose of guiding students and early-career professionals in developing and honing the skills required for the performance of 21st-century repertoire. Tonight’s concert features Inuit throat singer Tanya Tagaq’s new work for string quartet “Sivunittinni.”

The final evening’s program also includes the world premiere of “Knock,” composed by our dear friend and former Kronos cellist Joan Jeanrenaud and San Francisco Conservatory of Music graduate Kevin Villalta’s arrangement of the classic Colombian cowboy joropo “Y soy llanero.” Buy tickets >

Explore the music of Kronos Festival 2017’s guest artists, composers and songwriters on Spotify or YouTube.

* Written for Kronos / + Arranged for Kronos / ** Written for Kronos and composed for Fifty for the Future: The Kronos Learning Repertoire

Email Newsletter