Concert Info

  • YouTube
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • MySpace
  • Email
  • |
  • Follow Kronos

Date: May 01, 2009

Time: 9:00 PM

City: Gateshead, England

Venue: The Sage Gateshead

Presenter: The Sage Gateshead


Kronos Quartet:
Unknown (arr. Kronos, transc. Ljova) / Oh Mother, the Handsome Man Tortures Me +
Traditional (arr. Jacob Garchik) / Lullaby +
Sigur Rós   (arr. Stephen Prutsman) / Flugufrelsarinn (The Fly Freer) +
Ramallah Underground / Tashweesh *
Ram Narayan (arr. Kronos, transc. Ljova) / Alap from Raga Mishra Bhairavi +
Aleksandra Vrebalov / Sketch from a Balkan Notebook *

Alim Qasimov Ensemble:
Alim Qasimov, vocal and daf
Fargana Qasimova, vocal and daf
Additional musicians TBA

Program to be announced


Kronos Quartet and Alim Qasimov Ensemble:
Program to include:
Said Rustamov / Getme, Getme (Don’t leave, don’t leave) +
Jahangir Jahangirov / Köhlen Atim (My spirited horse) +
Unattributed / Leyla +
Shafiga Okhundova / Mehriban Olaq (Let’s be kind) +
Unattributed / Peyman Ettik (I gave my word) +
Unattributed / Qashlarin Kamandir (Your eyebrows are bow-like) +

All works arranged by Alim Qasimov, with string quartet parts arranged for Kronos by Jacob Garchik.

These arrangements were commissioned for the Kronos Quartet and Alim Qasimov by the Aga Khan Music Initiative, a program of the Aga Khan Trust for Culture, and the Columbia Foundation.

Updated:  01/29/2009

* Written for Kronos / + Arranged for Kronos

Recent World Premiere

Philip Glass' String Quartet No. 6 premiered at the Chan Centre in Vancouver (Oct 19, 2013), followed by performances at the Smith Center for the Performing Arts in Las Vegas, NV (Oct 21), Clarice Smith Center in College Park, MD (Oct 24), and Stanford Live in Stanford, CA (Jan 15, 2014). Upcoming performances include Krannert Center in Urbana, IL (Mar 19), Théâtre de la Ville in Paris (May 5), the Barbican in London (May 13) and more.

Email Newsletter