• YouTube
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Email
  • |
  • Follow Kronos
Photo by Rachel Bleckman.

Kronos Performing Arts Association

The Kronos Quartet/Kronos Performing Arts Association (KPAA) is a non-profit organization based in San Francisco. The mission of Kronos is to continually re-imagine the string quartet experience. Kronos fulfills its mission through commissioning, performing, presenting, recording and publishing contemporary music, and collaborating with, mentoring and encouraging other artists.

KPAA commissions about a dozen new works each season. Kronos performs more than 75 concerts a year, touring for 22 weeks to an average of 15 countries and 15 domestic states annually. Performances often include educational activities in conjunction with the San Francisco Bay Area home season and touring engagements in both rural communities as well as large urban centers. KPAA continually strives to reach, challenge, and expand audiences that rarely have the opportunity to attend performances of contemporary music. Kronos/KPAA also maintains a commitment to education by participating in concert discussions, benefit performances, classroom visits, open rehearsals, master classes, coaching sessions, and performances in schools which reach diverse age groups ranging from elementary school aged students through young professional musicians.

KPAA has a management office in San Francisco with a staff of ten. The staff handles all of Kronos' business, such as career management, recordings, artistic planning, booking, promotion, production, and fund raising. The organization is funded by donations from many generous individuals, and by grants from foundations and government sources which include the National Endowment for the Arts, San Francisco Grants for the Arts, the William and Flora Hewlett Foundation, and many others.

To donate to the Kronos Quartet/Kronos Performing Arts Association and help to commission composers and perform new work, click here.

Staff List

  • Janet Cowperthwaite Managing Director
  • Mason Dille Development Manager
  • Dana Dizon Business Operations Manager
  • Sarah Donahue Production Operations Manager
  • Lauren Frankel Development Associate
  • Scott Fraser Senior Sound Designer
  • Sasha Hnatkovich Communications Manager
  • Sara Langlands Community Engagement and Festival Manager
  • Reshena Liao Creative Projects Manager
  • Nikolás Ixyar McConnie-Saad Office Manager
  • Kären Nagy Strategic Initiatives Director


  • Cindy Michael Accountant
  • Brian Mohr Sound Designer and Technical Manager
  • Alexandra Quinn Grant Writer
  • Brian Scott Lighting Designer

Board of Directors

  • Andrea A. Lunsford, PhD Chair
  • Sumiko Ito Allison
  • Wallace Chappell
  • Janet Cowperthwaite
  • Hank Dutt
  • Andrew Fogg
  • Kenneth Foster
  • Jeanne Giordano
  • Robert E. Gordon
  • David Harrington
  • Derek Lance
  • Donlyn Lyndon, FAIA
  • Drew McCalley
  • Greg G. Minshall
  • Elisabeth Morten
  • Christine O’Connor
  • Marjorie M. Randolph
  • Sara Sackner
  • John Sherba
  • Curtis Smith Immediate Past Chair
  • Priscilla Stoyanof
  • Alice Wingwall
  • Kirsten Wolff
  • Sunny Yang

Email Newsletter



Want to volunteer for Kronos? Contact us to learn more.

Support Kronos

Approximately 40 new works hailing from 25 countries are currently in progress. Your contribution helps us continue to create new work!

Learn More