Concert Info

  • YouTube
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Email
  • |
  • Follow Kronos

Date: September 13, 2011

Time: 7:30 PM

City: Salt Lake City, Utah

Venue: Kingsbury Hall

Presenter: Kingsbury Hall / University of Utah


A Musical Meditation on the Anniversary of 9/11

I. Dmitri Yanov-Yanovsky Awakening * Uzbekistan
Unknown (arr. Ljova & Kronos) Oh Mother, the Handsome Man
Tortures Me Iraq
Traditional (arr. Jacob Garchik) Lullaby + Iran
Ram Narayan (arr. Kronos, transc. Ljova) Raga Mishra Bhairavi: Alap + India

II. Einstürzende Neubauten Armenia + Germany
(arr. Paola Prestini & Kronos)
John Oswald Spectre * Canada
Michael Gordon Selections from The Sad Park * United States
Part 1 two evil planes broke in little pieces and fire came
Part 4 and all the persons that were in the airplane died


III. Osvaldo Golijov & Gustavo Santaolalla Darkness 9/11 * Argentina
(from the film 11’09”01)
Terry Riley One Earth, One People, One Love * United States
(from Sun Rings) *
Traditional (arr. Kronos, transc. Ljova) Tusen Tankar (A Thousand Thoughts) + Sweden
Aulis Sallinen (arr. Kronos) Winter Was Hard + Finland
with special guest [Children’s chorus TBA]
Vladimir Martynov The Beatitudes + Russia
(re-scored for Kronos by Vladimir Martynov)

Performed without intermission and played without pause.

Awakening was first performed on September 11, 2006, at Herbst Theatre in San Francisco, California.

PROGRAM SUBJECT TO CHANGE – Updated 08/18/2011
* Written for Kronos /  + Arranged for Kronos

Email Newsletter