RSS Feed
  • YouTube
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Email
  • |
  • Follow Kronos
Photo by Jay Blakesberg.


Page 2 of 44
May 31, 2019

AVAILABLE NOW! Five new string quartets from Kronos’ Fifty for the Future

Today, we released the scores and parts, recordings and other learning materials for the next five Fifty for the Future: The Kronos Learning Repertoire string quartets, composed by Guillermo Galindo, Zakir Hussain, Jlin, Lu Yun, and Mario Galeano Toro. Download the scores and parts and explore more materials here, and listen to the five new works below:

May 30, 2019

Kronos Festival 2019 starts TONIGHT, continues through Saturday

Tickets are still on sale for all concerts. Order your tickets now >

Read KQED’s “Insider’s Guide to San Francisco’s Most Adventurous Classical Music Fest” >

Watch the festival trailer on Boing Boing >

Read 48 Hills’ “Kronos Festival celebrates Bayview women, Malian griot, Howard Zinn” feature >

Read the The Mercury News’ “Guide to the Jam-Packed Lineup” >

Read San Francisco Classical Voice’s “Kronos Fest 2019 Explores the People’s History” feature >

Kronos rehearsing with San Francisco Girls Chorus
Kronos rehearses with San Francisco Girls Chorus

May 29, 2019

Hawa Kassé Mady Diabaté cancels appearance at Kronos Festival 2019 due to visa delays

It is with great regret that the Kronos Performing Arts Association (KPAA) announces that Hawa Kassé Mady Diabaté is unable to travel to the U.S. to be part of Kronos Festival 2019 on June 1. Her cancellation is due to the U.S. Department of State’s failure to issue her required P-3 visa in a timely fashion.

Kronos Quartet, Valérie Sainte-Agathe and the San Francisco Girls Chorus will perform the world premiere of Tegere Tulon, Diabaté‘s new work for Fifty for the Future: The Kronos Learning Repertoire, as planned.

Read More

May 22, 2019

Watch the trailer for “San Francisco’s Most Adventurous Classical Music Fest” – Kronos Festival 2019

Kronos Festival 2019 starts next week on Thursday, May 30, and runs through Saturday, June 1 at the SFJAZZ Center.

Read KQED’s “An Insider’s Guide to San Francisco’s Most Adventurous Classical Music Fest” >

Learn more and order tickets >

Read More

April 26, 2019

UPDATED – Meklit added to Kronos Festival 2019 and more announcements

Kronos Festival 2019 is in less than five weeks, and Kronos has some exciting new developments:

NEW UPDATE (May 6, 2019) – Oakland-based writer, poet, spoken word artist, actor, dancer, emcee, and choreographer Michael Wayne Turner III has also been added to Voices of a People’s History on Opening Night (May 30). He and Kronos previously collaborated on Echoes, a spoken-word chamber opera composed by Danny Clay, written and performed by Youth Speaks with Kronos and The Living Earth Show, and presented by San Francisco Performances and Kronos Presents.

ADDITIONAL UPDATE (April, 29, 2019) – Musician, singer-songwriter, composer, arranger, and band leader Brian Carpenter of Beat Circus and Ghost Train Orchestra will join the June 1 Day 3 concert as part of Kronos and Friends Celebrate Pete Seeger at 100.

San Francisco Bay Area singer-songwriter Meklit Hadero will join the May 30 Opening Night concert as part of Howard Zinn’s Voices of a People’s History and June 1 Day 3 concert as part of Kronos and Friends Celebrate Pete Seeger at 100.

Also on Opening Night, Kronos will premiere Enthusiasm Strategies, composed by Missy Mazzoli for Kronos’ 50 for the Future education initiative.

Kronos’ oft-requested arrangement of Sigur Rós‘s “Flugufrelsarinn” has been added to the Day 2 concert on May 31.

The complete program for the June 1 Saturday morning Family Concert has been announced.

Listen to playlists on Spotify or YouTube to get a taste of many of the guest artists and composers who will be featured during our fifth annual music festival, including CocoRosie, Sam Amidon, Jlin, Bang on a Can’s Michael Gordon, Jherek Bischoff, Trio Da Kali’s Hawa Kassé Mady Diabaté, San Francisco Girls Chorus, filmmaker Sam Green, and many many others.

Kronos Festival 2019 poster

Read More

Concert Schedule

Aug30Banff, Alberta, CanadaEric Harvie Theatre, Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity
Sep7Washington, D.C.Skylight Pavilion, The REACH at the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts
Sep11Las Vegas, NevadaArtemus W. Ham Concert Hall, University of Nevada, Las Vegas
Sep14Atlanta, GeorgiaEmerson Concert Hall
Sep15Athens, GeorgiaHugh Hodgson Concert Hall, University of Georgia
Sep17Asheville, North CarolinaDiana Wortham Theatre

Kronos tours often! View all of our venues and dates.


Email Newsletter