• Home
  • >
  • News
  • >
  • Support Kronos Quartet & Mary Kouyoumdjian: Silent Cranes


RSS Feed
  • YouTube
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Email
  • |
  • Follow Kronos
April 03, 2015

Support Kronos Quartet & Mary Kouyoumdjian: Silent Cranes

Mary Kouyoumdjian’s Silent Cranes is a multimedia piece that will remember those who were massacred and deported during the Armenian Genocide of 1915, and offer hope for a peaceful resolution in the present day. With your support, the Kronos Quartet will be able to fully fund the commissioning of Silent Cranes, which will receive its world premiere on April 29, 2015 in Armenia during the Yerevan Perspectives 16th International Music Festival.

Silent Cranes is Kouyoumdjian’s second work for Kronos. She was the recipient of the fifth Kronos: Under 30 Project commission, in which she was chosen from a call for composers that yielded nearly 400 applicants in 43 countries on five continents, the largest response in the program’s history. Her first work for Kronos, Bombs of Beirut, premiered as part of a series of Kronos’ 40th anniversary season concerts at Z Space in San Francisco in 2014, and has since been performed at Edinburgh International Festival, Stanford Live, Ars Musica, and more.

Please help support Silent Cranes by donating to our Indiegogo project, and by sharing it on Facebook and Twitter.

I feel it’s possible that music can actually point new directions for even very painful historical events, and with your support Silent Cranes will point a positive direction to a very terrible occurrence in history. – David Harrington, Kronos Quartet

My family’s history is just one of so many that have been affected by this great crime nearly a century ago. I feel a huge responsibility and desire to share the stories of so many who did not have the opportunity to do so, and I truly believe that acknowledging genocides of the past will help prevent the same horrors from happening in the future. – Mary Kouyoumdjian

About the Composer

Mary Kouyoumdjian (b. 1983) is a composer, orchestrator and music editor with projects ranging from concert works to multimedia collaborations and film scores.  Her music has been described as “eloquently scripted” and “emotionally wracking” by The New York Times. Kouyoumdjian has received commissions from Carnegie Hall for This Should Feel Like Home, the American Composers Forum/JFund for Dzov Yerku Kooynov [Sea of Two Colors], REDSHIFT, the Los Angeles New Music Ensemble, the Nouveau Classical Project, Friction Quartet, Experiments in Opera, and Ensemble Oktoplus. She holds an M.A. in Scoring for Film & Multimedia from New York University and a B.A. in Music Composition from the University of California, San Diego, and will begin her pursuit of a Doctor of Musical Arts at Columbia University this fall.

Multimedia Collaborators

Silent Cranes will include projections of historic photos, textiles and other images created by Laurie Olinder, a multimedia designer, painter and photographer based in NYC. The piece will also contain testimonials of Genocide survivors recorded by David Barsamian, the host of Alternative Radio and one of America’s most tireless and wide-ranging investigative journalists. In addition to providing these recordings, he has written and recorded a poem that will be woven into Silent Cranes.


Email Newsletter