• Home
  • >
  • News
  • >
  • Philip Glass to Receive National Medal of Arts


RSS Feed
  • YouTube
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Email
  • |
  • Follow Kronos
September 19, 2016

Philip Glass to Receive National Medal of Arts

We are thrilled to congratulate Philip Glass—longtime friend and collaborator of Kronos, and one of Kronos’ Fifty for the Future composers—on his 2015 National Medal of Arts! President Barack Obama will present the awards at the White House in conjunction with the National Humanities Medals this Thursday, September 22. The event will be live streamed at whitehouse.gov/live.

The National Medal of Arts citations recognize “Philip Glass for his groundbreaking contributions to music and composition. One of the most prolific, inventive, and influential artists of our time, he has expanded musical possibility with his operas, symphonies, film scores, and wide-ranging collaborations.” Congratulations to Philip on this well-deserved honor!

Fellow 2015 honorees include Audra McDonald, Mel Brooks, Sandra Cisneros, the Eugene O’Neill Theater Center, Morgan Freeman, Berry Gordy, Santiago Jiménez, Jr., Moises Kaufman, Ralph Lemon, Luis Valdez, and Jack Whitten. “These National Medal of Arts recipients have helped to define our nation’s cultural legacy through the artistic excellence of their creative traditions,” says NEA Chairman Jane Chu, “and I join the President in congratulating and thanking them for their contributions.”

Established by the US Congress in 1984, the National Medal of Arts has been awarded to writers, dancers, choreographers, actors, painters, musicians, and dedicated supporters of the arts for their contributions to the field of arts and humanities in America. For more information, visit arts.gov.


Email Newsletter