• Home
  • >
  • News
  • >
  • Polar Music Prize 2011 Ceremony


RSS Feed
  • YouTube
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Email
  • |
  • Follow Kronos
September 06, 2011

Polar Music Prize 2011 Ceremony

On August 30, Kronos Quartet received the Polar Music Prize, an international music prize which is awarded to individuals, groups or institutions in recognition of exceptional achievements. The 2011 Polar Prize ceremony took place at the Stockholm Concert Hall, where King Carl XVI Gustaf and Queen Silvia of Sweden presented the awards to Kronos and Patti Smith, this year’s co-laureate. Previous laureates include Bjork, Led Zeppelin, Bob Dylan, and Ravi Shankar, as well as Kronos collaborators Steve Reich, Gyorgy Ligeti, and Sofia Gubaidulina.

Watch the full ceremony after the jump.

The ceremony (in English) begins at 7:50 in the clip.



Email Newsletter