Requiem for a Dream (Vinyl Reissue)

Clint Mansell


“Composer Clint Mansell has collaborated with director Darren Aronofsky on all of his feature films, but it is his bravura score for Requiem for a Dream — Aronofsky’s horrifying, psychedelic fantasia about the devastation of drug addiction — that remains his most notorious composition. Mansell worked with the Kronos Quartet to craft a mesmerizing score with dramatic highs and lows, evocative of the drugs that the film’s characters covet. He deftly captures the hopes, scheming, and hunger of Aronofsky’s doomed protagonists. Much of what makes Mansell’s score so unforgettable is its overwhelming presence. Just like an opera, as the film’s title suggests, Mansell’s score pervades the majority of the film — there is rarely a moment without some form of music. Unlike other scores that blend quietly into the background, Mansell’s arrangements resound gloriously.”

Caroline Madden, Fandor

About the album

Nonesuch Records released the first-ever vinyl edition of Clint Mansell’s score to Darren Aronofsky’s 2000 film Requiem for a Dream for Record Store Day 2016. Pressed on two 180-gram LPs, the album features the original soundtrack, remastered for the release by John Webber, plus two previously unreleased bonus tracks, and newly commissioned artwork by Simon C Page.


Kronos Quartet
David Harrington, violin
John Sherba, violin
Hank Dutt, viola
Jennifer Culp, cello

All machines programmed by Clint Mansell

Produced by Clint Mansell, except Kronos Quartet performances produced by Judith Sherman with arrangements by David Lang

Soundtrack album produced by Clint Mansell and David Harrington

Executive Producers of the soundtrack album: David Bither, Eric Watson, and Darren Aronofsky

Side 1

  1. Overture
  2. Party
  3. Coney Island Dreaming
  4. Party
  5. Chocolate Charms
  6. Ghosts of Things to Come
  7. Dreams
  8. Tense
  9. Dr. Pill
  10. High on Life
  11. Ghosts
  12. Crimin’ & Dealin’
  13. Hope Hoverture
  14. Tense
  15. Bialy & Lox Conga

Side 2

  1. Cleaning Apartment
  2. Ghosts-Falling
  3. Dreams
  4. Arnold
  5. Marion Barfs
  6. Supermarket Sweep
  7. Dreams
  8. Sara Goldfarb Has Left the Building
  9. Bugs Got a Devilish Grin Conga

Side 3

  1. Winter Overture
  2. Southern Hospitality
  3. Full Tense
  4. The Beginning of the End
  5. Ghosts of a Future Lost
  6. Meltdown
  7. Lux Aeterna
  8. Coney Island Low

Side 4

  1. Purple in the Morning, Blue in the Afternoon, Orange in the Evening, Green at Night
  2. 30 Days to Revolutionize Your Life!!! 1-900-976-JUICE

Released by Nonesuch Records

Buy and Listen



your email:


Buy / Listen